Sunday, May 29, 2011

Yael Naim She Was A Boy CD Review!

Yael Naim has just released her second album!

~She Was a Boy~
Yael Naim is the first Israeli solo artist to have a Top 10 hit in the U.S with her 2008 single “New Soul” which garnered nearly 1.5 million downloads in the U.S for its placement in Apple’s campaign for their Macbook Air computer. She appeared on “The Ellen DeGeneres Show,” CBS’s “The Early Show” and “Late Night With Conan O’Brien” with the success of her last album. She Was a Boy has already surpassed Gold status in France, and Naim has been awarded the “Victoire de la Musique” {France’s Grammy equivalent} for Best Female Singer, which she previously won for World Music Album of the Year in 2008.

I had heard of Yael Naim before but I had never listened to her music. So~I wasn't sure what to expect when I put this in the CD player. I was very pleasantly surprised by this CD. As it has a jazz~folk feel to it. Her voice is amazing and you can tell that she put a lot of soul into the songs. I listened to it from start to finish and I will be listening to it over and over again. As it is one that you will find yourself tapping your foot and singing along! Her voice is smokey~sultry and sexy.
Entertainment Weekly notes that the new release exudes “…sprightly Joni Mitchell-goes-Dixieland charm,” while MTV Hive praises her “knack for fun, whimsical pop songs.”

This new album, made with collaborator and percussionist David Donatien, also features celebrated musicians such as French jazz trumpeters Lionel and Stephane Belmondo, cellist Yoed Nir (Interpol, Regina Spektor and Rufus Wainwright), classical musician Thomas Bloch (Radiohead, John Cage, Damon Albarn/Gorillaz) and the French artist Tété

The Track Listing~
  1. Come Home
  2. My Dreams
  3. She Was a Boy
  4. Go to the River
  5. Never Change
  6. I Try Hard
  7. Today
  8. Mystical Love
  9. Man of Another Woman
10. Puppet
11. Stupid Goal
12. If I Lost the Best Thing
13. Game is Over

You can listen more to Yael and even get a free download of Go to the River by visiting~

For more info You can find Yael Here~
Tour dates~
 {I was sent Yael Naim She Was A Boy CD to to review~All opinions are my own.No monies were offered or exchanged}


  1. This does sound like something I would enjoy so I'm going to try and find an excerpt from the links you've listed and listen to it and buy it.
    Really nice review and I'm glad I came by to read it.

  2. I there just wanted to say thanks for stopping by, I am a new follower from the Alexa hop

  3. I think I'm going to check this out. Sounds like something I'd like. I'm a new follower too!

    Michelle @ Things Sent My Way


Package From Santa Review!

We received a Package From Santa in the mail today! My grandson was so excited to see his name on the front of the bright red box and cou...